This page covers answers to a few common questions we receive about sharing Animoto videos to personal Facebook accounts. Have questions that aren’t covered below? Just reach out to our customer success team for help.
Who can see videos I share to Facebook?
When you share a video for the first time, Facebook will ask you to authorize Animoto to post on your behalf -- this will give us permission to post your videos to your Facebook when you use the share tools in your Animoto account. You’ll also be asked who on Facebook you’d like to share your videos with.
Here’s a brief description of the share options:
- Public. Your video will be viewable to anyone on Facebook.
- Friends. Only your Facebook friends will be able to view your video.
- Friends of friends. Your Facebook friends, and friends of your friends will be able to see and view your video.
- Only Me. Your video will be shared to your Facebook timeline, but it will only be viewable to you.
- Custom. Choose a default list, specific person/group of people, or exclude certain Facebook users from viewing your video.
- Lists. These are custom lists you create in Facebook. Examples of lists could be "friends from school", or "immediate family".
Is it possible that my video could be viewed by Facebook users I am not connected to?
If you share an Animoto video to your friends only, but tag a friend in the video, Facebook will include your video on your friend's timeline, which means it could be viewed by your friend's Facebook friends.
How can I change who can see my video?
You can change who can see your posts at any time. To do this, look for the date/time stamp on your shared video directly on your Facebook timeline. Right next to that will be your sharing options.
If it's public, you'll see a mini globe. If you have it shared with friends only, you'll see a silhouette of two people. Click the arrow next to the icon to change who can see that specific video.
When I set up Animoto with Facebook, I chose "Public." How can I change this?
You can change the default posting options for Animoto videos by adjusting your Facebook settings for the Animoto application. Find Animoto in the “Logged in with Facebook” list from your Facebook settings and click the pencil icon. Under “App visibility and post audience" change the setting to your preferred default audience.
How can I post to my business Facebook Page?
We only allow for one Facebook account to be linked at a time to your Animoto account, but if your personal and professional accounts share the same log-in information then you can you can alternate between the two at the top of the Facebook share feature.
How can I share my video if I receive a “Facebook account is connected to another user” error message?
There are two reasons you might be seeing a “connected to another user” error message when sharing to Facebook:
- You already have a Facebook account connected to your Animoto account. To clear this up, remove the current connection to Facebook in your account by going to the Settings tab on your Account page (https://animoto.com/account) and clicking the "X" next to Facebook.
- There is another Animoto account that is linked to the Facebook account you are hoping to share to. Try logging into Animoto with any alternate email address to see if you have multiple Animoto accounts. If you need help locating the other account, please reach out to our Customer Success team. One of our advisors will be happy to help locate and disconnect that account for you.